LIFE OF MI: My first book!

Well, what an incredible few weeks it has been!

At the beginning of the year I was sitting in bed on my laptop. My boyfriend walked into the bedroom and asked what I was doing. I sat there for a moment debating whether to tell him the truth or not. I then decided that I should.

“I’m just looking at some stuff online and doing some research…. I’ve been thinking about maybe writing a book…” I said as I looked away, preparing to go tomato red as he laughed at the idea. But he didn’t laugh.

“That’s an amazing idea. It would be amazing. You should do it” he said.

I had always liked the idea of writing a book, but I always thought people would think it was a silly idea, so I was slightly shocked to hear his words of encouragement. I shouldn’t have been of course, because he is always so unconditionally supportive.

So I decided to go for it. I started putting some ideas together and slowly started writing. Once I was signed off of work after my breakdown in March and feeling better I got the bulk of it done. Before I knew it, it was complete and ready to be unleashed on the public!

I decided to go down the self-publishing route for a number of reasons. The main one was that because this is my story and it’s so personal to me and such a part of who I am, I wanted to keep creative control over it. I didn’t want some editor telling me what should be in or out of it. So I went for it and published it myself through Kindle Direct Publishing on Amazon. The book was released on the 26th May 2017 and the response has already been overwhelmingly fantastic! I have even been featured in the local paper (http://www.midsussextimes.co.uk/news/village-voice/your-news-tackling-the-mental-illness-taboo-1-7988176) and on the amazing website ‘I am 1 in 4’ (https://iam1in4.com/2017/06/06/3-things-i-wish-i-had-known-when-i-was-diagnosed-with-depression/)

The book is available as an ebook and paperback. If you haven’t already got your copy, then what are you waiting for?! Grab it here:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_6_6?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=kirsty+frampton&sprefix=kirsty%2Caps%2C161&crid=1AJJJ0LZVBSZD

 

Leave a Reply

